Hustle for the Muscle: Part 1

Standard

As summer is dwindling, I am getting an itch to refocus and set some personal fitness goals in department of building muscle mass.  In other words, I would like to have tricep muscles that poke you in the eye, shoulders that remind you of mini pumpkins, and wonder thighs.

#goals


My plan is to commit for six weeks by coupling daily nutrition, pre/post workout nutrition and specfic strength plan. And here’s how I am going to there

Nutrition:  

With AdvoCare 24 Day Challenge I learned a lot about fueling the body to make if more efficient and strength the metabolism.  On regular I emphais on eating lean protein, plus carbohydrates (including low glycemic carbs, veggies, and fruit), and healthy fats. But it’s fascinating how when you time out when you have carbs, fats, etc it can have an impact on scale, body composition and energy. September 6 starts post summer 24 day challenge. Last few weeks have really turned into 70/30 eating, time to get rid of summer fluff.  I’ll be sharing my journey on the 24 Day Challenge, stay tuned!  If you are interested in joining the challenge click here! 


Pre/Post Workout Nurtition:

New strategy is making I eat before my lifts.  I am a pro fasted workouts because a mindset that more fat burning will take place that way.  Beyond that nutrition is pretty simple make sure I eat within 30 minutes 2 carb : 1 protein and use some powerful products.  


Workout Plan:

Monday: Legs/Back

Tuesday: Chest/Arms and PM Spin Class

Thursday: PM Spin Class

Friday: Legs/Shoulders/Triceps

Saturday: Long Run 

Sunday: Gut Busting Total Body Blast

Lifts will be heavy around 4-5 sets, reps anywhere 8-15. I plan on including compound, multi-joint movements to get the most bang for my buck. Exercises such as squats, deadlifts, bench presses, pull-ups, and overhead presses, require maximum muscle recruitment, and lead to faster muscle growth. Always always changing up the program to keep my body guessing, and prohibit adaptation. Vary the exercises, rest intervals, rep range, grip, or other factors, to keep it fresh and stimulate growth.

I really wanna make sure I don’t go crazy on the cardio. I am testing the theory that too much cardio can be detrimental to lean muscle, but I have 2 half marathons and 2 five-milers this fall.  

Mindset set…

Leave a Reply

